LaJunta, Colorado

Who We Are

Created with Sketch.

Chapter History

La Junta Chapter NSDAR was organized November 24, 1913. Harriet Bragg was the first chapter regent and was regent for seven years. The chapter’s geographic area includes Fowler, Rocky Ford, La Junta, and Las Animas (Otero and Bent counties). The site of Bent’s Old Fort was maintained by the chapter for years which included the building of the stone gateway at the original entrance to the roadway leading to the fort. The chapter owned the site of the fort from February 8, 1926, to June 14, 1954, when the land was deeded to the State of Colorado for the use and benefit of the State Historical Society for the sum of $1.00. Later it was sold to the United States for $1.00 on June 3, 1960, and became a part of the National Park Service.

Historic Places

Rocky Ford Historical Museum. By Dianna Hendren
The Rocky Ford Historical Museum built in 1908, is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Photo by Dianna Hendren.
Bent's Old Fort Gate. By Pam Kuhns-Valdez
Bent’s Old Fort Gate, located north of La Junta on Colorado Highway 194 at the entrance to the National Historical Site of Bent’s Old Fort. The DAR marker was moved from its original location on a farm adjoining the fort to the west. The marker sits on a pedestal to the west of the stone archway.
Photo by Pam Kuhns-Valdez.
Koshare Kiva. Shared as CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0)
Koshare Kiva is near the Otero Junior College in La Junta. One of the large murals in the La Junta Koshare Kiva was a gift of the chapter. The scout leader, founder of the Koshare Indians, was “Buck” Burshears whose mother Laura Burshears was a member of the La Junta Chapter. The kiva was built by Hendren Construction. Ground was broken for the kiva construction on October 3, 1948.
Photo shared as CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0).

Historic Marker

Bent’s Old Fort Gate June 14, 1930